Eastern Hill (Headquarters and Fire Station FS01)
The original Eastern Hill Fire Station was built in 1893 and is located on the corner of Victoria Parade and Gisborne Street. The building is heritage listed and houses the Fire Services Museum of Victoria, which has a large collection of fire engines in the station’s old engine bay.
In 1979 a new addition to the building was opened (on the corner of Albert Street and Gisborne Street) by the then Premier of Victoria, Hon Rupert J Hamer. The building is a good example of ‘Brutal Architecture’ and now includes the number one Fire Station (FS01) and also a large amount of the corporate administration functionality of the MFB.
The new building also has a unique mural “Legend of Fire”. It depicts the story of Prometheus, who travelled deep into the heavens seeking out Zeus the keeper of fire, and how he stole fire from the sun. The mural was produced at the Studio of State Art, Department of the Premier, under the direction of the State Artist and was unveiled by the Premier of the day, Lindsay Thompson on Sunday March 7, 1982.
Image of the mural (located at 456 Albert Street, East Melbourne).
Burnley (Training Facility and Administration)
The construction of the MFB Training Complex at 450 Burnley Street, Burnley was completed in 2007.
It now houses a large proportion of MFB’s training requirements, with dedicated scenario buildings such as the Smoke House, where fire conditions can be replicated for enhanced realism.
The building is a 5-Star Green Star facility, which is a result of an integrated design process and includes items such as passive air-conditioning, extensive natural light, and insulated glazing.
The Burnley Complex is also home to the MFB's Fallen Firefighter Memorial, which commemorates the 27 firefighters lost in the line of duty.
Image of the Fallen Firefighters Memorial (located at 450 Burnley Street, Burnley).